Server Density allows you to add servers into groups and then control which users have access to the servers within those groups.
When adding or editing a server you can specify which group it will belong to, if any. This can either be a new group or an existing one. You do not need to create a group beforehand - this is done automatically from the add/edit server page. There are no limits on the number of groups that can exist but a server can only belong to one group at a time.
Once you have groups, you can edit the level of access users have. This is done from the Users tab when adding or editing a user.
Users have two levels - admin and non-admin. All users are non-admin users unless you tick the "Admin user" box when adding/editing that user.
- Non-admin users can log in to Server Density both via the web interface and the iPhone application and view all servers and alerts belonging to servers as per the configured permission options. Non-admin users can see all alerts but can only add new alerts for themselves. They can only edit, pause, resume and delete alerts assigned to them.
- Admin users have full access to all aspects of the service, except for the Account functions (e.g. buy new SMS credits, add a payment method). Only the primary account (created when you signed up to Server Density) can access account functionality. Permissions do not apply to admin users.
- Access to all groups - the default. No restrictions on which groups can be accessed.
- Access only to selected groups. The user will only be able to see servers and alerts belonging to servers within the groups selected.
- Access to all except selected groups. The user will be able to see all servers and alerts belonging to servers except those within the groups selected.
The 2nd and 3rd options above require one or more groups to be selected to either allow or deny access to. This is done from the select menu when adding/editing a user.
All permissions settings apply throughout Server Density, including our API and mobile apps.